About Hometown Pride

Keep Iowa Beautiful’s Hometown Pride program was developed in 2012 as a practical way to assist local initiatives for improving the appearance of and pride in our countryside and communities. The program offers leadership training, skill development, youth service learning and a variety of educational components, tools and solutions for community development and sustainability. The focus is locally driven on enhancing community cultural and economic vitality. Local and countywide initiatives include improvements to facilities, roadways, homes, signage, community entryways and buildings, partnering with other communities and the county in regional efforts.

Communities that have a desire to not only survive but to grow and qualify for the program receive five years of locally driven long-term technical and professional coaching assistance. During that time, a trained coach will work to deliver a sense of stability and empowerment. The program begins with an assessment of each community by a local team and then encourages the team to take a comprehensive approach to their unique challenges. When implemented, communities are rewarded with sustainable plans and programs. A “can do” attitude becomes prevalent.

“The normal model for the program is for a county and all its communities to agree to the program along with the local economic development entity for that county. One coach can serve from seven to 14 communities. In this manner the program becomes economically feasible and desirable. Another approach could be regional in nature, for example, a chain of communities along a highway corridor, river or trail. A physical or political reason or feature that has a need for the communities to work together around a common purpose. The key is having a larger number of communities (seven to 14) for the Hometown Pride coach to work with and a common goal. This program is not designed for single communities,” Gerald F. Schnepf, Executive Director

Seeking New Counties in 2019

Would your community benefit from the Hometown Pride program? Keep Iowa Beautiful is excited to announce that it is expanding its Hometown Pride program for five years beginning in 2019 to new counties. Upon selection, Keep Iowa Beautiful will commit to providing:

  • A $200,000 financial match over five years. The local communities, economic development interests and the county all commit to match those dollars and provide the leadership to initiate the effort.
  • Five years of long-term technical and professional coaching assistance. A community coach is recruited, driven totally by local citizens.
  • Additional assistance: grant toolbox access, annual performance reviews and sustainability concepts increase the probability of success.

To be considered, a letter of interest must be submitted by March 15, 2019 to [email protected] or Keep Iowa Beautiful, 300 E. Locust Street, Suite 100, Des Moines, IA 50309. For more information about the expansion, download the documents below.

Hometown Pride Expansion Flyer – Word Doc
Draft of suggested Hometown Pride Documents – Word Doc

Annual Reports

The objective of Hometown Pride success is to deploy agreed-upon action plans that offer steps toward stronger, more sustainable communities and neighborhoods for Iowa.

Download and review stories and accomplishments in our Annual Reports of the counties and communities we served – the most recent report provides the most value.

Download the 2018 Year in Review








Download the 2017-2018 Hometown Pride Annual Report 

Counties and Communities Served

The Hometown Pride program has served the following Iowa counties and communities listed below, noted with the first year of their five-year commitment.


  • Pocahontas County (Fonda, Gilmore City, Havelock, Laurens, Palmer, Plover Pocahontas, Rolfe and Varina)


  • Fremont County (Bartlett, Farragut, Hamburg, Imogene, Percival, Randolph, Riverton, Sidney, Tabor and Thurman)


  • Des Moines Capitol Neighborhoods (Capitol East, Capitol Park and MLK Jr. Park neighborhoods)
  • Louisa County (Columbus City, Fredonia, Letts, Morning Sun, Oakville and Wapello)


  • Jasper County (Baxter, Colfax, Kellogg, Lynnville, Mingo, Monroe, Newton, Prairie City and Sully)
  • Sac County (Auburn, Lake View, Lytton, Odebolt, Sac City, Schaller and Wall Lake)


  • Clinton County (Clinton, Camanche, Delmar, Dewitt, Grand Mound, Lost Nation, Low Moor and Wheaton)
  • Grant Wood Mississippi River Region (Anamosa, Asbury, Bellevue, Cascade, Dubuque, Dyersville, Farley, Maquoketa, Monticello, Peosta, Preston and Sabula)
  • Warren County (Carlisle, Cumming, Hartford, Indianola, Milo, New Virginia and Norwalk)